Qatar has long been focused on preserving its natural environment for future generations. Sustainability and post-tournament legacy use are at the core of our design strategies for the stadiums and precincts proposed for the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar™. Water conservation, waste management, carbon management, renewable energy, environmental protection, urban connectivity, biodiversity and urban ecology are just a few of the means being used to achieve our goal of delivering the most sustainable major sporting event in history.

The challenge

The Supreme Committee for Delivery & Legacy (SC) is already making amazing progress on delivering stadiums and other infrastructure. This challenge gave entrants the opportunity to augment the work already being done. We received creative and cost-effective ideas that will lead to more sustainable outcomes in the design, construction and operational stages of our tournament infrastructure delivery. These were ideas that could benefit the tournament in 2022 and change the world for the better in the decades to come.

Focus areas

Sustainable energy solutions
• Highly efficient lighting systems and fixtures.
• Ventilation systems which reduce energy demand.
• Active shading solutions to dynamically deliver solar shading.

Sustainable water solutions
• Functional landscapes and planting regimes with low water requirements.
• Low-flow fixtures and fittings to reduce water consumption and condensate capture systems as a substitute for irrigation water where appropriate.
• Substitution of water with moisture capture and water management systems to minimise usage.
• Use of treated sewage effluent (TSE) for landscape irrigation.

Sustainable design
• Modular seating for temporary stadium seating tiers which is inexpensive, lightweight and quick and easy to erect and dismantle. Modular seating should reflect Arab culture, align with the individual stadium characteristics and be made locally in the region.

Sustainable grass generation
• Growing grass in stadiums requires plenty of sunlight, which can conflict with the need for shaded spectator areas. Thus minimising or eliminating the impact of shadows on the turf is required, without re-designing stadium roof structures. Participants were required to present a working prototype to show the feasibility of implementing their idea.


Find out more about our challenges: Main Page | Health & Safety | Tourism Experience | Internet Of Things

See how Challenge 22 is driving innovation: Homepage | 2017 Winners | How It Works | Success Stories | Partners

ظلت دولة قطر لعقود طويلة تراعي الحفاظ على بيئتها الطبيعية من أجل الأجيال القادمة، وتولي استراتيجياتنا في تصميم الاستادات والمناطق المحيطة بها المرشحة لاستضافة بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم قطر 2022 أهمية خاصة لمسائل الاستدامة والاستفادة من الإرث بعد انتهاء البطولة، وتُعد المحافظة على المياه، وإدارة النفايات، وإدارة انبعاثات الكربون، واستخدام الطاقة المتجددة، وحماية البيئة، والربط بين المناطق الحضرية، والتنوع الحيوي، وتنمية البيئة الحضرية أمثلة قليلة على الوسائل التي نتبعها لتحقيق الهدف الرامي للوصول إلى الحدث الرياضي الضخم الأكثر استدامة عبر التاريخ.

التحدي

تحقق اللجنة العليا للمشاريع والإرث تقدماً مبهراً في أعمال إنشاء الاستادات والبُنى التحتية الأخرى. منح هذا التحدي الفرصة لزيادة حجم العمل الجاري تنفيذه. لقد تلقينا أفكاراً إبداعية وذات تكلفة فعالة لتسهم في خلق المزيد من فوائد الاستدامة في مراحل تصميم وإنشاء وتشغيل مشاريع البنى التحتية الخاصة بالبطولة. ومن الممكن أن تطبّق هذه الأفكار في بطولة عام 2022، وأن تغير العالم للأفضل في العقود القادمة.

مجالات التركيز

حلول الطاقة المستدامة
• أنظمة الإنارة عالية الكفاءة وتجهيزاتها
• أنظمة التهوية التي تقلل استهلاك الطاقة
• حلول التظليل الفعالة لتوفير التظليل الشمسي بفاعلية مستمرة

حلول المياه المستدامة
• المناظر الطبيعية العملية وأنظمة الزراعة التي تتطلب كميات قليلة من المياه
• التجهيزات والتركيبات منخفضة الدفق للحد من استهلاك المياه وتكثيف أنظمة الالتقاط بحيث تصبح بديلًا لمياه الري ما أمكن ذلك
• الاستعاضة عن المياه بأنظمة التقاط الرطوبة وإدارة المياه للتقليل من استخدامها
• استخدام مياه الصرف الصحي المعالجة لري المناظر الطبيعية

التصميمات المستدامة
• وحدات جلوس مرنة لمقاعد مدرجات الاستادات المؤقتة، وهي غير مكلفة وخفيفة الوزن وسريعة وسهلة التركيب والتفكيك. ينبغي أن تعكس مقاعد الجلوس الثقافة العربية، وأن تنسجم مع الخصائص المميزة لكل استاد، وأن تُصنع محلياً في المنطقة.

الإنتاج المستدام للعشب
• يتطلب نمو العشب في الاستادات وفرة في أشعة الشمس، مما قد يتعارض مع الحاجة إلى مساحات مظللة لجماهير المشجعين، لذا يلزم الحد أو التخلص من تأثير الظلال على العشب دون إعادة تصميم هياكل أسقف الاستادات. يجب على المشاركين تجهيز نموذج مبدئي فعلي لإظهار جدوى تنفيذ أفكارهم.