icon-arrow-left icon-arrow-down icon-arrow-sml icon-search icon-social-mail icon-social-circle-email icon-social-circle-facebook icon-social-circle-twitter icon-social-facebook icon-social-twitter whatsapp-icon icon-clock icon-play icon-close icon-social-instagram icon-stadium-al-rayyan icon-stadium-al-wakrah icon-stadium-albayt icon-stadium-khalifa icon-stadium-lusail icon-stadium-qatar-foundation icon-arrow-blue icon-fullscreen icon-popout minus plus icon_pushpin icon_pin icon-house target

Scalable Synthesis Of Expanded Polystyrene

Dr Khaled Saoud met the sustainability challenge with a potentially life-saving idea.    

The idea

Dr Saoud’s creation is one that very few people would ever be aware of, but many might depend upon. He has designed a sustainable way to produce a more durable, less flammable and lighter insulation material than the polystyrene commonly used.

For the first time I can translate my ideas from the lab to something that will benefit people in their everyday life.

His polystyrene composite, which incorporates nanomaterials such as silica aerogel or nanosheets, can be applied to existing insulation materials, which can then withstand 45 minutes of heat with minimal damage, compared to as little as 50 seconds without the coating. This time could be the difference between life and death.

With nationwide construction in Qatar ongoing in preparation for the 2022 FIFA World Cup™, Dr Saoud’s innovation could be applied to countless construction projects, making each and every one safer – and more sustainable. 

The team

Jordanian Dr Saoud, who teaches physics at Virginia Commonwealth University in Qatar, submitted his idea as an individual applicant. Thanks to Challenge 22 funding though, he has now been able to hire two scientists to assist him in his work and advance his research, and he also received extensive training on making his idea more commercially attractive.

dr khaled saoud challenge 22

As a prominent scientist in the field of nanomaterials and nanotechnologies, he already had a well-formed concept by the time he heard about Challenge 22. The innovation award has, however, pushed his project forward dramatically: “It’s accelerated it completely,” he said. “It has enabled me to get materials I need, equipment I need, and to hire some people because one person cannot do everything. I can now register new patents and publish new scientific papers. So it accelerated everything immeasurably.

Dr Saoud now hopes to perfect his product and see it used throughout the Middle East, not least of all at the 2022 FIFA World Cup Qatar™.

Learn more about our success stories: Main page | Amazing Reality View Experience | Tactile Palm Communicator

استطاع الدكتور خالد سعود الارتقاء إلى مستوى تحدي الاستدامة بفكرة ستساهم في إنقاذ الأرواح.

الفكرة   

على الرغم من اعتماد الكثيرين على مقترح الدكتور خالد إلا أن القليلين جداً يعرفون طبيعته، حيث ابتكر طريقة مستدامة لإنتاج مواد عزل أطول عمراً وأخف وزناً وأقل قابلية للاشتعال مقارنة بمواد العزل المصنوعة من البولسترين شائعة الاستخدام.

تتكون المادة التي ابتكرها الدكتور خالد من مواد دقيقة مثل الهلام الهوائي أو الصفائح التي تعتمد على تقنية النانو ومن الممكن تطبيقها على مواد العزل الموجودة لتساهم في صمودها لمدة 45 دقيقة كاملة أمام الحرارة دون أضرار كبيرة مقارنة بحوالي 50 ثانية دون الطلاء، وقد يكون هذا الفارق الزمني الحد الفاصل بين الحياة والموت.

"لأول مرة أستطيع أن أترجم أفكاري في المختبر إلى شيء مفيد للناس في حياتهم اليومية."  

وبالتزامن مع المشاريع الإنشائية التي تشهدها قطر استعداداً لكأس العالم FIFA ٢٠٢٢™، من الممكن الاستفادة من ابتكار الدكتور خالد في عدد كبير من المشاريع بهدف إضفاء المزيد من السلامة على حياة الناس والاستدامة على المباني.

فريق العمل 

تقدم الدكتور خالد، الذي يحمل الجنسية الأردنية ويدرّس مادة الفيزياء في جامعة فرجينيا كومنويلث في الدوحة، بفكرته بصفة فردية، إلا أنه تمكّن من نقل أبحاثه إلى مستوى أعلى بفضل التمويل الذي حصل عليه من تحدي 22، كما أنه حصل على تدريب مكثف بهدف جعل فكرته أكثر جذباً من الناحية التجارية.

وبما أنه يحمل فكر العلماء البارزين في مواد وتقنية النانو، فقد كانت الفكرة متبلورة في ذهنه عند سماعه حول تحدي 22، إلا أن برنامج جائزة الابتكار قد ساهم في دفع عجلة مشروعه بسرعة أكبر، الأمر الذي علق عليه قائلاً: "لقد سرّع تحدي 22 الأمور بشكل كبير وأعانني على الحصول على المواد والمعدات والمساعدة التي أحتاجها لأتمكن من توسيع أبحاثي وتسجيل براءات اختراع جديدة ونشر المزيد من الأبحاث العلمية. أنا حقاً ممتن لهذا الدعم الذي دفع عجلة الأمور بشكل كبير جداً".

ويأمل الدكتور خالد في الوصول بهذا المنتج إلى درجة الكمال لاستخدامه في جميع أنحاء الشرق الأوسط لاسيما في كأس العالم FIFA قطر ٢٠٢٢™.