Workers' welfare is of critical importance to the success of the Supreme Committee for Delivery & Legacy (SC). It has the potential to create a transformative and truly global human and social legacy for the first FIFA World Cup™ to be held in the Middle East.

The health, safety, security and dignity of all workers employed on our projects is of the utmost importance to us. Our commitment has been constant since we were awarded the right to host the tournament in December 2010. In line with the guiding principles laid out in the Qatar National Vision 2030 and the steps taken by Qatar's government, we have never shirked our responsibility to our workers.

 Our Commitment
 Our Commitment

Communicating challenges and progress

As activity on our projects has increased, so too has the level of transparency and communication around the innovative and practical ways we are addressing the challenges we face.

We have always recognised the importance of communicating our progress in relation to workers' welfare. We employ an approach of open dialogue, including extensive consultations with non-governmental organisations. This involves attending events and conferences, both in Doha and internationally, where we can update interested parties on our workers’ welfare efforts.

Leading by example, SC Secretary General, H.E. Hassan Al Thawadi, delivered a keynote speech during the opening of the 2018 Social Forum at the UN Human Rights Council in Geneva. Al Thawadi’s participation built on previous SC engagements and collaboration with the UN, including:

• Hosting Mega Sport Events: Strengthening the Respect for Human Rights – an event organised in February 2018 by the Permanent Mission of the State of Qatar to the UN in Geneva

• A special event from the UN Office for Drugs and Crime entitled Crime Prevention and Sustainable Development Through Sports, held in April 2018

• The 38th Session of the UN Human Rights Council, held in June 2018

In October 2018, the SC conveyed its commitment to workers’ welfare at a conference organised by the Qatar Chamber of Commerce and Industry and the Institute of Human Rights and Business, which was supported by both the Ministry of Administrative Development Labour & Social Affairs and the International Labour Organization.

The conference allowed us to share some significant workers’ welfare achievements with Qatar’s most influential business leaders. Following on from the success of our drive to repay recruitment fees and amplify the voices of our workers, it offered a vital opportunity to discuss the reality of workers’ welfare in Qatar. 

Other key interactions in 2018 included:

• An in-depth presentation to the FIFA Human Rights Advisory Board and a tour of Al Rayyan Stadium and workers’ accommodation

• A recruitment fee workshop with the NYU Stern School of Business, Center for Business and Human Rights in New York City

• Presentations at the 4th Modern Slavery & Human Rights in Supply Chain Conference and the Engineers Against Poverty 20th Anniversary event in London

We have often faced criticism about how our workers are treated. We accept that some of this criticism is warranted. However, as our Workers' Welfare Standards evolve, it is important to acknowledge the successes that these standards have helped us to achieve.

 Our Commitment
Our Commitment

Over the past several years, we have spent tens of thousands of hours auditing and inspecting construction and accommodation sites and holding our contractors to account. As of September 2019, more than 212 million working hours were tallied up across all of our projects. The subsequent health & safety record of 0.03 accidents per 10,000 hours is as good as – if not better than – many countries far more developed than Qatar. 

Building relationships

The close working relationship between our Workers' Welfare team and the teams on the ground at our stadium sites has helped us to gain the support of our contractors.

With our contractors' assistance, we are delivering innovative projects to protect and enhance the lives of our workers, including our nutrition study, cooling technology trials and skills training for workers.

 Our Commitment
Our Commitment

We create these initiatives based on feedback from the workers our team has built personal relationships with. The team spends time earning the trust of these workers, as well as the contractors and stakeholders, whose close cooperation is vital to implementing our standards.

When we introduced our Workers' Welfare Standards in 2014, we understood that it was just the beginning. Since then we have worked tirelessly to implement these standards and improve conditions whenever possible. We will continue to protect our workers until the last brick is laid and the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™ is ready for kick-off.


Learn more about our commitment: Health & Safety | Innovation | Legacy | Transparency | Outreach

Read more about our Workers' Welfare programme: Homepage | The Journey | Our WorkersOur Standards | Our Team

تمثل رعاية العمال أهمية حيوية لنجاح اللجنة العليا للمشاريع والإرث، حيث يمكنها بناء إرث إنساني واجتماعي عالمي لأول كأس العالم FIFA™ في منطقة الشرق الأوسط. إرث حقيقي سيسهم في تحقيق تغيرات إيجابية في المجتمع.

تمنح اللجنة العليا الأهمية القصوى لصحة وسلامة وأمن وكرامة جميع العاملين في مشاريعنا، وكان التزامنا تجاه ذلك ثابتاً منذ الإعلان في ديسمبر 2010 عن فوزنا بحق استضافة كأس العالم FIFA قطر ٢٠٢٢™. وتماشياً مع المبادئ التوجيهية التي أرستها رؤية قطر الوطنية 2030، والخطوات التي اتخذتها الحكومة، نواصل الالتزام الراسخ بمسؤوليتنا تجاه العمال.

 بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم
 بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم

التواصل حول التحديات والإنجازات

في ظل تزايد الأنشطة في مشاريعنا، ازداد كذلك مستوى الشفافية والتواصل بشأن الوسائل المبتكرة والعملية التي نتعاطى من خلالها مع ما نواجهه من تحديات.

ندرك دائماً أهمية نقل ما نحرزه من تقدم في مجال رعاية العمال، ونعتمد نهجاً منفتحاً يرتكز على الحوار الصريح، ويشمل الاستفادة من استشارات مؤسسات غير حكومية. ومن بين هذه الجهود حضور الفعاليات والمؤتمرات سواء في الدوحة أو على المستوى العالمي، حيث يمكننا إطلاع الأطراف المعنية على آخر التطورات بشأن جهودنا على صعيد رعاية العمال.

وفي هذا الإطار، ألقى سعادة السيد حسن الذوادي، الأمين العام للجنة العليا للمشاريع والإرث، كلمة خلال افتتاح المنتدى الاجتماعي 2018 في مجلس حقوق الانسان التابع للأمم المتحدة في مدينة جنيف السويسرية. وجاءت مشاركة الذوادي هذه لتضاف إلى سلسلة من المشاركات وأشكال التعاون السابقة مع الأمم المتحدة وتشمل:

استضافة الفعاليات الرياضية الكبرى: تعزيز احترام حقوق الإنسان، وهي فعالية نظمها الوفد الدائم لدولة قطر لدى الأمم المتحدة في جنيف في فبراير 2018

• فعالية خاصة استضافها مكتب الأمم المتحدة المعني بالمخدرات والجريمة في إبريل 2018 تحت عنوان: الرياضة من أجل التنمية المستدامة ومنع الجريمة.

الدورة الثامنة والثلاثين لمجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة التي عُقدت في يونيو 2018.

أكدت اللجنة العليا في أكتوبر 2018 على التزامها تجاه رعاية العمال خلال مؤتمر نظمته غرفة تجارة وصناعة قطر ومعهد حقوق الإنسان والأعمال(EN)، وحظي بدعم كل من وزارة التنمية الإدارية والعمل والشؤون الاجتماعية ومنظمة العمل الدولية (EN).

أتاح لنا المؤتمر الفرصة لمشاركة بعض الإنجازات الهامة التي حققناها على صعيد رعاية العمال مع أبرز قادة الأعمال في قطر. وقد جاء المؤتمر عقب نجاح جهودنا في إعادة رسوم التوظيف للعمال وإيصال أصوات عمالنا، إضافة إلى أنه كان بمثابة فرصة بالغة الأهمية لمناقشة واقع رعاية العمال في قطر.

أنشطة أخرى شهدها 2018:

• عرض تقديمي معمّق أمام المجلس الاستشاري لحقوق الإنسان في الاتحاد الدولي لكرة القدم (فيفا) وجولة في استاد الريان وأماكن سكن العمال

• ورشة عمل حول رسوم التوظيف مع كلية ستيرن لإدارة الأعمال ومركز الأعمال وحقوق الإنسان التابعين لجامعة نيويورك.

• عروض توضيحية خلال المؤتمر الرابع حول العبودية الحديثة وحقوق الإنسان في شركات التوريد (EN) ومؤتمر الذكرى السنوية العشرون لمنظمة مهندسون ضد الفقر في لندن (EN).

 التواصل حول التحديات والإنجازات
 التواصل حول التحديات والإنجازات

أمضينا على مدى السنوات الماضية عشرات الآلاف من الساعات في تدقيق وتفتيش مواقع الإنشاءات وأماكن السكن، وطلب الإيضاحات من المقاولين. وقد سجّلنا مع حلول شهر سبتمبر 2019 أكثر من 212 مليون ساعة عمل في جميع مشاريعنا. ونرى أن الرقم القياسي الذي حققناه في مجال الصحة والسلامة وتمثّل في معدل الإصابات الذي بلغ 0,03 إصابة لكل 10,000 ساعة عمل، يعد جيداً، إن لم يكن الأفضل، مقارنة بالعديد من الدول الأكثر تقدماً من قطر.

بناء العلاقات

ساعدتنا علاقة العمل عن قرب بين فريق رعاية العمال وفرق العمل على الأرض في مواقع بناء الاستادات على كسب الدعم من جانب مقاولينا.

وبفضل مساعدة المقاولين نواصل تنفيذ مشاريع مبتكرة لحماية وتعزيز حياة العمال، ومن بينها دراسة عن التغذية، وتجارب تقنية التبريد، وتدريب العمال على المهارات.

 بناء العلاقات
 بناء العلاقات

أعددنا هذه المبادرات بناء على آراء العمال الذين نجح فريقنا في بناء علاقات شخصية معهم، حيث يمضي الفريق الكثير من الوقت في كسب ثقة هؤلاء العمال، وكذلك المقاولين والشركاء، والذين يمثل التعاون معهم أهمية حيوية لتطبيق المعايير التي وضعناها.

عندما طرحنا معايير رعاية العمال في العام 2014، أدركنا حينها أن هذه هي مجرد بداية، ومنذ ذلك الوقت عملنا بكل جد لتطبيق هذه المعايير وتحسين الظروف كلما أمكن ذلك. وسوف نواصل حماية عمالنا حتى اكتمال العمل في كافة المشاريع، واستعداد كأس العالم FIFA قطر ٢٠٢٢™ للانطلاق.


تعرف على المزيد حول التزامنا: الصحة والسلامة | الابتكار | الإرث | الشفافية | المشاركة

اقرأ المزيد حول برنامجنا لرعاية العمال: الصفحة الرئيسية | الرحلة | عمالنا | معاييرنا | فريقنا