As Khalifa International Stadium was already a host venue of international level events, its redevelopment – and therefore its environmental impact – was kept to a minimum. The main focus was on enhancing its capacity and facilities to FIFA World Cup™ standards and, crucially, modernising it to become a more environmentally friendly venue

A green route to the game

Before fans even get to the stadium, they will be contributing towards the goal of making the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™ the most eco-friendly tournament ever – one of the Supreme Committee for Delivery & Legacy's key objectives. Whether they arrive via bus or the dedicated Sports City metro station, they will be helping to minimise the tournament's carbon footprint.

If fans are heading to another FIFA World Cup™ fixture after the match, they won't drive up vehicle emissions and air miles by travelling for hours between host cities. Unlike previous editions of the tournament, no FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™ venue will be more than an hour away from any other. Located in the geographical centre of our proposed tournament venues, Khalifa International Stadium is particularly well placed for onward travel.

A historic stadium, with a sustainable future

One of the most important changes to the stadium was the addition of a huge new roof canopy. Along with advanced cooling systems, it helps to maintain a comfortable temperature for football fans, supplying a simple, green solution to an environmental challenge.

Every effort made in the stadium's renovation, down to the use of energy-saving lighting and bathroom fittings. Khalifa International Stadium is the first FIFA World Cup 2022™ venue to achieve the goal of Global Sustainability Assessment System (GSAS) certification. Even a venue as historic as Khalifa International Stadium recognises that sustainability is an integral part of its future.

 Sustainability

Discover more about Khalifa International Stadium

 Khalifa International Stadium.
  Khalifa International Stadium Design.
  Khalifa International Stadium Legacy.
  Khalifa International Stadium Timeline.

Learn about our stadiums

 Al Bayt Stadium.
 Al Janoub Stadium.
 Al Rayyan Stadium.
 Al Thumama Stadium.
 Education City Stadium.
 Lusail Stadium.
 Ras Abu Aboud Stadium.
 Stadiums Overview.
English

احتضن استاد خليفة الدولي العديد من الأحداث العالمية خلال تاريخه الطويل، لذا كانت عمليات إعادة تطويره وأثرها البيئي محدودة نسبياً. ركزت عمليات التجديد على زيادة الطاقة الاستيعابية للاستاد، وتحسين المرافق التابعة له لتتوافق مع معايير بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم، بالإضافة إلى تحديثه ليصبح صديقاً للبيئة بشكل أكبر.

طريق أخضر للعبة الأجمل

سيسهم المشجعون من خلال طريقة تنقلهم للوصول للاستاد في تحقيق أهداف اللجنة العليا للمشاريع والإرث الرئيسية، والمتمثل بجعل بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم قطر 2022 الأكثر صداقة للبيئة على الإطلاق، فهم سوف يساعدون على تقليل انبعاثات الكربون الناتجة عن البطولة، سواء استقلوا الحافلة أو المترو عبر محطة المدينة الرياضية للوصول إلى الاستاد.

إذا اختار المشجعون مغادرة الاستاد بعد المباراة للاستمتاع في أجواء بطولة كأس العالم لكرة القدم في مكان آخر، كحضور مباراة أخرى في أحد الاستادات، أو مناطق المشجعين، فإنهم لن يحتاجوا لقيادة المركبات أو ركوب الطائرات للتنقل بين المدن المستضيفة، مما يقلل من الانبعاثات المضرة بالبيئة، فبخلاف النسخ السابقة من البطولة، لن تتجاوز مدة الرحلة بين منشأة وأخرى من منشآت بطولة كأس العلم لكرة القدم قطر 2022 ساعة واحدة. يقع استاد خليفة الدولي جغرافياً في قلب البطولة ويتوسط موقعه باقي الاستادات، مما يجعله حيوية لمواصلة التنقل خلال البطولة.

 الاستدامة

تجهيز الاستاد التاريخي لمستقبل مستدام

كانت إضافة مظلة ضخمة ممتدة على جميع جوانب الاستاد واحدة من أهم التغييرات التي طرأت على المكان، حيث ستساعد في المحافظة إلى جانب أنظمة التبريد المتطورة على درجات حرارة مريحة للمشجعين، مقدمة بذلك حلًا بسيطاً وصديقاً للبيئة للتحديات التي تتعلق بهذا المجال.

تصب الجهود التي تبذل في الاستاد حتى في أصغر تفاصيلها مثل استخدام الإضاءة وتجهيزات دورات المياه الموفرة للطاقة باتجاه تحقيق الهدف المتمثل في الحصول على شهادة نظام تقييم الاستدامة العالمي (GSAS)، وهي المرة الأولى التي تمنح فيها هذه الشهادة لمشروع تحديث، وبذلك يكون استاد خليفة الدولي ذي التاريخ العريق أحد العوامل المساعدة في جعل الاستدامة جزءاً رئيسياً من مستقبل البلاد.

 الاستدامة

Arabic